Sunday, May 13, 2012

New Book: Whatever After #1: Fairest of All by Sarah Mlynowski

Whatever After #1: Fairest of All by Sarah Mlynowski was released earlier this month and is the first book in a new series by the author. Mlynowski has used fairy tale themes loosely for YA books previously such as her Frogs & French Kisses (Magic In Manhattan) and Spells & Sleeping Bags (Magic In Manhattan) which dealt more with a teen and her adventures with magic.

Book description:

A fresh, modern spin on a classic fairy tale--from bestselling author Sarah Mlynowski!

Mirror, mirror, on the basement wall . . .

Once upon a time my brother and I were normal kids. The next minute? The mirror in our basement slurped us up and magically transported us inside Snow White's fairy tale.

I know it sounds crazy, but it's true.

But hey -- we're heroes! We stopped Snow White from eating the poisoned apple. Hooray! Or not. If Snow White doesn't die, she won't get to meet her prince. And then she won't get her happy ending. Oops.

Now it's up to us to:
- Avoid getting poisoned
- Sneak into a castle
- Fix Snow White's story

And then, fingers crossed, find our way home.

The book is ages 8 and up, so primarily middle readers. I imagine this one will appeal to the fans of the Princess School series by Jane Mason and Sarah Hines-Stephens that was canceled prematurely in my humble opinion judging from its popularity in SurLaLune links.

No comments:

Post a Comment