Wednesday, July 27, 2011

Lament: The Faerie Queen's Deception by Maggie Stiefvater

Lament: The Faerie Queen's Deception (Gathering of Faerie) Ballad: A Gathering of Faerie

Lament: The Faerie Queen's Deception (Gathering of Faerie)by Maggie Stiefvater is another ebook appearing for $2.99 in the Big Deal sale ending tonight on Amazon. This one is YA and helped launch Stiefvater's career. It is followed by a sequel, Ballad: A Gathering of Faerie, which is not in the sale.

 Book description from the publisher:

Sixteen-year-old Deirdre Monaghan is a painfully shy but prodigiously gifted musician. She's about to find out she's also a cloverhand—one who can see faeries. Deirdre finds herself infatuated with a mysterious boy who enters her ordinary suburban life, seemingly out of thin air. Trouble is, the enigmatic and gorgeous Luke turns out to be a gallowglass—a soulless faerie assassin. An equally hunky—and equally dangerous—dark faerie soldier named Aodhan is also stalking Deirdre. Sworn enemies, Luke and Aodhan each have a deadly assignment from the Faerie Queen. Namely, kill Deirdre before her music captures the attention of the Fae and threatens the Queen's sovereignty. Caught in the crossfire with Deirdre is James, her wisecracking but loyal best friend. Deirdre had been wishing her life weren't so dull, but getting trapped in the middle of a centuries-old faerie war isn't exactly what she had in mind . . .

Lament is a dark faerie fantasy that features authentic Celtic faerie lore, plus cover art and interior illustrations by acclaimed faerie artist Julia Jeffrey.
I sat on a panel with Stiefvater at Dragon*Con a few years ago when Shiver (Wolves of Mercy Falls) was a new release. She knows her faerie lore and her books are highly recommended for fans of that subgenre. Here's her other series with the memorable covers, love the artwork.

Shiver (Wolves of Mercy Falls) Linger (Wolves of Mercy Falls, Book 2) Forever (Wolves of Mercy Falls, Book 3)

No comments:

Post a Comment