Wednesday, August 17, 2011

Ed McBain's Fairy Tale Series

After reading the description of Snow White: Rose Red crime thriller series (Book One) in my previous post, I was reminded of Ed McBain's Fairy Tale Series featuring Matthew Hope, a criminal lawyer in Florida. The series borrowed from fairy tales, not necessarily in plot in my understanding, but still grabbing some tropes and characterizations. I've never read any of the series, but it did sound interesting if dark and gritty. McBain died in 2005 so the series has ended and is mostly out-of-print. Hopefully it will one day make it into ebook format for new readers.

I'll let you click through to read the book descriptions, so here's the series in pub date order:

Goldilocks (1978)

Rumpelstiltskin, A Matthew Hope Mystery

Beauty and the Beast

Jack and the Beanstalk

SNOW WHITE & ROSE RED: Blonde hair, deep green eyes, Matthew took one look and fell in love. Sarah Whittaker was certified paranoid schizophrenic. He took the case. And was led into murder, mutilation, and great danger. (A MATTHEW HOPE NOVEL)

Cinderella (1986)

Three Blind Mice: A Novel

Mary, Mary
Mary, Mary (1993)

There Was a Little Girl

Gladly the Cross Eyed Bear

The Last Best Hope

No comments:

Post a Comment