Saturday, February 23, 2013

$1.99 Bargain Ebooks: E. D. Baker and Helen Castor

Hello folks, I will get back to regular posting soon--the blog is not dying, I'm just BUSY--but here's a TODAY only bargain ebook, a recent release. Unlocking the Spell: A Tale of the Wide-Awake Princess (Tales of the Wide-Awake Princess) by E. D. Baker is $1.99 today only. And it was only released this past October. I heard Baker talk about it at the Southern Festival of Books a few weeks later and my admiration for her only grew.

And you want this one, because it's inspired by Snow White and Rose Red. How often does that happen? Not very. And the reviews for it are great. It's a companion book to The Wide-Awake Princess which also happens to be $1.99.

Book description for Unlocking the Spell:

Bears, princes, witches, dwarves, and other fanciful fairy tale creatures step out in this charming story about Annie and her sister Gwendolyn ... and Gwendolyn’s beloved prince, Beldegard the Bear. You see, Beldegard is only human when he’s near Annie, so Gwendolyn is desperate to find the evil dwarf who turned Beldegard into a bear in the first place, and reverse the terrible spell. But Annie has just traipsed all over the kingdom to free her sister from the Sleeping Beauty spell...will she want to set out on a magical quest once more? Or has she had enough of watching her sister gaze lovingly into Beldegard’s eyes?

With trademark humor and many delightful twists, E. D. Baker brings us back to a magical land that offers many layers of fun and fantasy.

And while we're here, talking about princesses and queens and all, She-Wolves: The Women Who Ruled England Before Elizabeth by Helen Castor is also $1.99 for a short time. Ha, when you see the recommendation blurb by Hilary Mantel who's managed to get herself from press this past week.

Book description:

“Helen Castor has an exhilarating narrative gift. . . . Readers will love this book, finding it wholly absorbing and rewarding.” —Hilary Mantel, Booker Prize-winning author of Wolf Hall

In the tradition of Antonia Fraser, David Starkey, and Alison Weir, prize-winning historian Helen Castor delivers a compelling, eye-opening examination of women and power in England, witnessed through the lives of six women who exercised power against all odds—and one who never got the chance. Exploring the narratives of the Empress Matilda, Eleanor of Aquitaine, Isabella of France, Margaret of Anjou, and other “she-wolves,” as well as that of the Nine Days' Queen, Lady Jane Grey, Castor invokes a magisterial discussion of how much—and how little—has changed through the centuries.

No comments:

Post a Comment