Tuesday, April 4, 2017

New Book: Wintersong: A Novel by S. Jae-Jones




Wintersong: A Novel by S. Jae-Jones was released in February. This was uses Beauty and the Beast in its promotional plan, but that appears to be more subtle in reality with the Goblin King as the true inspiration, especially the Goblin King as seen in the cult classic film, Labyrinth. And that's a movie I haven't seen in decades. The book description invokes a bit of ATU 311: Rescue by the Sister, too, a Bluebeard tale type. Since Bluebeard and Beauty and the Beast can be easily connected in storytelling--think no further than Jane Eyre!--that is always fun for me!

Book description:

“Wintersong is a maze of beauty and darkness, of music and magic and glittering things, all tied together with exquisite writing. This is a world you will want to stay lost in.” ―Marie Lu, #1 New York Times bestselling author

Dark, romantic, and unforgettable, Wintersong is an enchanting coming-of-age story for fans of Labyrinth and Beauty and the Beast.


The last night of the year. Now the days of winter begin and the Goblin King rides abroad, searching for his bride…

All her life, Liesl has heard tales of the beautiful, dangerous Goblin King. They’ve enraptured her mind, her spirit, and inspired her musical compositions. Now eighteen and helping to run her family’s inn, Liesl can’t help but feel that her musical dreams and childhood fantasies are slipping away.

But when her own sister is taken by the Goblin King, Liesl has no choice but to journey to the Underground to save her. Drawn to the strange, captivating world she finds―and the mysterious man who rules it―she soon faces an impossible decision. And with time and the old laws working against her, Liesl must discover who she truly is before her fate is sealed.

Rich with music and magic, S. Jae-Jones's Wintersong will sweep you away into a world you won’t soon forget.

"This was Labyrinth by way of Angela Carter. Deliciously romantic, with a nuanced Goblin King and a strong heroine, this story was rife with fairy tales, music, and enchantment." ―Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Touched Queen

1 comment:

  1. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

    ReplyDelete